Dover Rowing Club End of Season Presentation Dinner

Dover Rowing Club held their end of season Presentation Dinner at the weekend. Dover RC had a fantastic season securing 3 Coast Amateur Rowing Association titles and narrowly missing out on a fourth. The Junior division also took the overall Junior Aggregate and top point scorers awards, with two crews qualifying for the South Coast Championship at Paignton, Devon. Club members also competed in the Welsh, British and qualified for the World Offshore competitions.

CARA Championship Winning Crews:
Junior Men’s Four: Sebastian Steele, Finn Cockerell, James Hale and Jasper Mallet with substitute Max Arkell coxed by Freya Emmerson
Junior Men’s Pairs: James Hale and Jasper Mallet
Novice Men’s Four: Sebastian Steele, Finn Cockerell, James Hale and Jasper Mallet coxed Freya Emmerson with Oli Scrivener, Jacob Scrivener, Harley Scrivener, Sam Pile coxed by Paul Scrivener.

The club created a new award for the Improved Junior Rower which is awarded to the most improved J14 or J16 rower. This went to Beau Everington-Nee who was part of Dover’s successful J14 squad.

Most Improved Male Rower went to Jasper Mallet was part of all three CARA title wins moving from Men’s Novice to Junior Four’s and also securing the Men’s Junior Pairs title. Jasper has also captured his first win in a sculling event edging him beyond his teammates for this award.

Most Improved Female Rower was awarded to Nikki Leggatt. Nikki has been competing in Novice, Junior and Veteran racing classes and has impressed the club with her improvement in her first full season.

The Coxswain of the year saw Felicity Ulyatt and Freya Emmerson head to head. The club went with the Ulyatt for her improvement over this year as the club recognises the need for continous development of coxes as well as rowers. Emmerson had previously secured the CARA Cox of the Year title.

Rowers Rower award went to inspirational club member Jon Cook whose constant improvement and dedication has allowed him to overcome his disability and move up two divisions to qualify as a Senior rower. Jon qualified through to the South Coast Championship in Dover’s Junior Senior crew as well as completing the Monster the Loch endurance race.

The Committee voted for Tony Burrows to be Club Person of the Year following his work supporting new and existing members through training and competition.

Captains Award went to Maria West-Burrows for her work running the beach on race days and supporting club development.

The club would like to thank Emmerson and Laine Napier for arranging and organising the event, Nick Bailey for paying for the disco and all the club sponsors in 2022.